AirDesign BoxR Package Contents: What AirDesign's Product Page Confirms

AirDesign BoxR
AirDesign BoxR — product photograph from the Altura catalogue. View product

What the current AirDesign source can — and cannot — confirm

If you are weighing up the AirDesign BoxR, the manufacturer's product page is the right place to start, but it only answers a narrow set of questions. It names the items supplied in the box, states which back protector is standard and which is optional, and publishes a weight figure per size and a set of bag dimensions. It does not tell you whether a size fits your body or whether the harness suits your current wing or reserve. Those are dealer and instructor questions, not label-reading questions — and this article stays strictly on the label-reading side.

BoxR items named in the "What you get" list

AirDesign's "What you get" section for the BoxR names five items: an Edelrid Foras Karabiner (100gr), an Inflatable AirPillow Max Protector, Light Rescue Risers, a Pumpbag, and a Speedbar. The manufacturer's text does not state how many of each are included beyond these labels, so no quantity should be assumed beyond what is written — if you need exact counts, that is a dealer confirmation point, not something the page spells out.

The separate storage-bag wording and the unresolved Pumpbag question

Elsewhere on the same page, AirDesign states that "a storage bag is supplied with your harness," describing it as something that compresses the harness for packing and is also used to inflate the AirPillow. This storage bag is described separately from the Pumpbag line in the "What you get" list, and the published wording does not explicitly say whether "Pumpbag" and "storage bag" are two names for the same physical item or two different items. Rather than guessing, it is worth asking a dealer directly whether the package contains one multi-purpose bag or two separate bags.

Standard AirPillow Max versus optional FoamPillow Max

AirDesign states that the BoxR is 'equipped with the AirPillow Max as standard.' Separately, it describes an optional accessory: 'For flight schools, the optional FoamPillow Max (Foamprotector) is available.' The source establishes only that the FoamPillow Max is optional and offered for flight schools; it does not establish purchase terms, protection performance, or suitability beyond that. Any question about protection performance or which protector suits your flying belongs with a dealer or instructor.

Published total harness weight by BoxR size

Under the table heading "Total harness weight," AirDesign publishes one figure per size, reproduced here exactly as printed:

AirDesign BoxR — published total harness weight
SizeTotal harness weight
The BoxR S2,7 kg
The BoxR M2,8 kg
The BoxR L2,9 kg
The BoxR XL3,0 kg

These are weight figures only. The size labels (S, M, L, XL) are not, by themselves, fit guidance — which size suits your height, weight, and flying style is a question for your instructor or dealer, not something the weight table resolves.

Published packing-bag dimensions and volume

AirDesign publishes the storage bag's dimensions as "55 × 45 × 15" alongside a volume of "37 L." The volume is given with a clear unit, litres. The dimensions are not — no unit (centimetres, inches, or otherwise) appears next to the three numbers in the published text. That gap should be treated as a genuine limitation rather than filled in with an assumption; if the physical size of the bag matters to your packing plans, ask the dealer to confirm the unit before you rely on it.

Claims the product page does not support

For clarity, the page does not state a height-or-weight-based fit recommendation, a ranking of AirPillow Max against FoamPillow Max, quantities beyond the item labels listed above, or a confirmed unit for the 55 × 45 × 15 figure. Treating any of the points above as settled would go beyond what AirDesign has actually published.

What to confirm with the dealer before purchase

Before buying, it is worth confirming with a dealer: whether the Pumpbag and the described storage bag are the same item, whether the current retail package still matches every line in the "What you get" list, which size the dealer recommends for your body and flying, and the unit for the bag's published dimensions. The specifics above reflect AirDesign's own product page as it read at the time this article was researched; since manufacturer pages can change, ask the dealer to confirm the package still matches what is published before you buy. You can review the current listing and specifications for the BoxR directly as a starting point for that conversation.

This article is grounded in web research and Altura's technical knowledge base — but for decisions about gear and safety, always consult a qualified instructor or dealer.

FAQ

What items does AirDesign list as supplied with the BoxR?

AirDesign lists an Edelrid Foras Karabiner (100gr), Inflatable AirPillow Max Protector, Light Rescue Risers, Pumpbag, and Speedbar. The page does not specify quantities beyond these item labels.

Is the AirPillow Max standard on the BoxR?

Yes. AirDesign states that the BoxR is equipped with the AirPillow Max as standard, while the FoamPillow Max is described as an optional accessory for flight schools.

What is the published BoxR harness weight by size?

AirDesign publishes 2,7 kg for size S, 2,8 kg for M, 2,9 kg for L, and 3,0 kg for XL.

What bag dimensions and volume does AirDesign publish for the BoxR?

AirDesign publishes dimensions of 55 × 45 × 15 and a volume of 37 L. The published excerpt does not state the unit for the dimensions.

What is the BoxR storage bag used for?

AirDesign says a storage bag is supplied with the harness and is used both to compress it for packing and to inflate the AirPillow. The page does not establish whether this storage bag is the same physical item as the listed Pumpbag.

Related gear